From A Different Perspective

I was mowing the lawn the other day and I kept thinking I had hit every blade of grass, when I rode out across the lawn and looked back  and  I could see several tall blades of grass waving in the wind that I had missed.  I wondered why I didn’t notice them as I rode on my regular path. After all, I was right up next to them the whole time. Then I realized, that I needed a new vantage point in order to see if I covered each area. I realized that I had to stand back to see it correctly. I needed a different perspective.

This made me think about life in general. How many times is it tough for us to understand a situation because we are only seeing it from one perspective…ours? You know, I get hurt a lot in ministry. Helping people isn’t always easy. When you pour your heart and soul into people, I think you tend to expect them to act a certain way towards you and others. Then when they don’t, it can make you a little jaded. It makes me wonder sometimes, why do I even try? But, what helps me every time to not allow myself to get into discouragement, is to get a new perspective.

I have to remember that I cannot make people act a certain way. I have to remember that I cannot make people like me. I have to remember that I don’t know the ins and outs of what people have actually  been through.  I have to remember that I cannot make people obey God. I have to remember that it is up to them too choose obedience.  I have to remember that I am not in control.

You know, God has a plan, and I don’t always understand it. He holds the universe  in His hands. And, my little  heart, in my little body, in my little family, in our little home on our little street, in our little town, in our little state, in our little country, on our little planet, is just a tiny part of what God is orchestrating on a daily basis. When I think about that, I remember that I am not God and I do not have His perspective.

All I can see is the path that I am riding on in this world and I sometimes just have to remember that there are countless other paths going on, intersecting and overlapping at the same time in order for God to keep this earth spinning according to His will. You see, only God can see this world from His perspective. We can try, but we will fail, as we are human. We need to let God be God and trust that even when we miss our mark sometimes, He is a good and gracious God and He will allow us to turn around and try again. Let’s ask God today for a new perspective.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From A Different Perspective

  1. Tanya says:

    Just finished your book on Overcoming Anxiety. What a true, true blessing and treasure! I want to buy copies for friends and family. Am so grateful to have ‘stumbled’ on the book in my local christian bookstore! Thank you thank you! I am so grateful. Again thank you for your ministry, heart and love of Jesus!!!

Leave a comment